Guest Post: Simple & Quick Meditation and Relaxation Techniques

Note this post originally appeared on the BlogHer network here

Happiness is many things – positive emotion – positive mood – resiliency – contentment- fulfillment – joy – bliss.  The higher states of happiness are available through the intention of connecting to something greater than yourself.  This intention will bring about a state of peace, tranquility, serenity, calm, and ease which will guide you into states of extreme joy and bliss!

Joy and bliss are two foreign concepts to the average person dealing with day to day life stressors.  It does not even register as an option, let alone a goal in and of itself. Yet, if you do focus on creating this state inside all of the stressors will melt away.

Who does not want to be joyous and blissful?

If I asked you:  “Do you want to sign yourself up for misery, stress, suffering and depression or boundless gratitude, unconditional acceptance, meaning and purpose beyond your wildest dreams, pure bliss and effervescent joy?”

Which would you want?

Hard choice right?

One way to make this transition into joy and bliss is through relaxation and meditation.  This allows your mind to become still and at peace while you are able to get in touch with your true soul’s guidance.

Even though there have been numerous medical and health benefits as a result of  meditation and relaxation it is still a foreign concept and a perceived luxury to many.  Between work, school, kids, husband, eating, showering, sleeping, maybe exercising, and socializing who has time for meditation and relaxation? I can hear you now…

  • “My to-do list is way to long to relax”
  • “Meditation is only for gurus on mountain tops”

Whatever your excuse is for why you are unable to make time to relax or meditate can be put aside.  It is for your greatest sense of wellness and well-being you want to adopt meditation as a priority in your daily happiness practice.

I meditate up to 4 times a day. My To-Do list is eternal.  I have found a way that is quick, easy, and effective that allows me to be productive throughout the day and have peace of mind at the same time.

  1. Get a Meditation Song you Love. I enjoy meditative and upbeat music that is relaxing to my soul, which is about 7 minutes long.
  2. Lay Down.  I play this song, while laying down and placing one hand on my heart and one hand on my belly.
  3. Third Step: Empty Yourself. I then intend to release all thoughts, all emotions and all physical sensations.  This brings me in touch with my soul, an emptiness, permission to release that which was created by external stimulus for a more peaceful and tranquil state of divine bliss.

The feelings I am able to achieve through a sense of emptiness, unity, acceptance, presence and peace are more enlightening to my experience than any egoic thought, consequential emotional experience and physical sensation in my body. The lightness of bliss and tranquility of mind is how I would prefer to handle my To Do list.

When I focus on maintaining this state in the process of accomplishing tasks I am experiencing inspiration, motivation, clarity, calm, ease, and flow.  When I notice I am out of that experience, I quickly put on that 7 minute song and get back to my state of emptiness: emptying myself of thoughts, emotions and physical sensations so I can access my upward spiral yet again.

I really do want to emphasize the benefits of making time for active relaxation and meditation.  Without this as a daily happiness practice you are likely to feel off balance, stressed out, discontent, unfulfilled and throw in a bunch of negative emotional experiences and physical consequences.

You DO have 7 minutes a day to take a break and focus on your breath, calm down, aim for emptiness.

After making this a daily happiness habit you could see an increase in your productivity, betterment in your relationships and an increase in your health and wellness.

When you focus your efforts and attention on creating peace and happiness from the inside out whether it is through present moment living, positive thinking or meditation, your upward spiral of life will soar!

If you still are having a hard time committing to 7 minutes a day, then I will give you the really quick version of how to achieve the benefits of 60 minutes of meditation in 60 seconds.

If you do one of the following activities or a combination of the activities for a consecutive 60 second period you will receive the same benefits of 60 minutes of meditation – smile, yawn or
say “yes.”

If you do this for a consecutive 60 second time frame, you will feel joy and bliss!

Between the 7 minute emptiness meditation and the 60 seconds of yessing, yawning or smiling, I am confident you will have more bliss and joy in your life.

Dr. Aymee Coget, Sustainable Happiness Expert, founder of The Happiness Makeover™ Training Program offers services and products on how to become happier at her websitewww.happinessmakeover.com. Ask questions and visit her on Facebook or Twitter (@draymee), or her blog www.draymee.blogspot.com.

This entry was posted in Exercise & Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

