Building a Healthy Start-up Kitchen Part 3: How to Eat

How you eat is almost as important as what you eat. We have shared our grocery list as well as how to find nutritious ingredients. Now Johanna Thorn, WellnessFX resident nutrition consultant, shares some healthy eating habits.

We asked a few members of the WellnessFX team how this type of eating fits into their schedules.

  • Christine – I enjoy lots of home-cooked meals, reflecting my large family values of eating and cooking. Whenever possible, I buy grass-fed beef nothing beats a grass-fed beef burger! You’ll usually find me at my desk munching on the delicious organic snacks from the WFX kitchen: almonds, fruit and dark-chocolate.
  • Brent – I am a fan of the Paleo diet, especially as I’m often a bit of a carnivore. My family and I enjoy a big dinner early in the evening, often with something barbequed. I am also often guilty of eating lunch while standing on my balance board at work.
  • Jeff – I consider a variety of environmental, humane, and other values on top of health considerations in my diet, which means that I end up eating  primarily vegetarian, organic and sustainably sourced foods. I love the WFX kitchen as it has a ton of options for me.
  • Jenn – I love a big breakfast – eggs or greek yogurt with a side of fruit. I then tend to snack throughout the day and am not above grabbing either a square of nori or a chocolate…depending on my mood.

We’re an omnivorous bunch as you can see.  To help our (and your) healthy habits, Johanna shared her favorite tips for eating healthy based on the “ProVita” nutrition plan by Dr. Jack Tips, based on Doc Wheelwrights research. We’ve included below.

Basic Principles For A Vibrant Life:

1.    Eat proteins with a variety of vegetables.

2.    Eat proteins away from starches and sugars.

3.    Combine cooked proteins with raw proteins in a meal. (eg. chicken in a salad with cooked and raw veggies, goat or sheep’s feta cheese, soaked seeds, sprouts with a miso dressing)

4.    Eat protein early in the day; starchier carbohydrates later in the day.

5.    Eat proteins with a small amount of good quality oil or fat.

6.    Make vegetables the foundation of every meal.  Add either protein or starchier carbohydrates in small portions.

7.    To support digestion, drink liquid beverages away from meals.  (NOTE:  at the end of a meal, do take 3 small sips of water to support enzymes to break down meal)

8.    Eat fruit alone and in the mid-afternoon for best utilization.

9.    Try not to eat past nightfall or 8pm.

10. Try not to eat protein alone as a snack or meal. (eg. add a tablespoon of sprouts, a few carrot or celery sticks to nut/seeds or yogurt)

11. Always eat breakfast; it should be the largest meal of the day, lunch is a medium sized meal and dinner is the smallest.

12. When eating out, do your best to apply these principles.  Most restaurants are willing to work with you; they want your business.

What are your favorite healthy eating tips?

This entry was posted in Exercise & Nutrition and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

